How can Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute benefit me?
Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute offers a comprehensive 2-day, hands-on class that specializes in certifications for medical professionals on various educational levels who wish to improve their existing skills, or learn new skills to enhance their education. Anyone interested in starting a career in the medical field without any prior medical background is also welcome to attend our course. You will complete an 18-hour course of instruction, which includes techniques and performance of 7 - 11 venipuncture's in addition to integrated formal lecture. Upon successful completion of all assigned tasks, a Certificate of Training, as a Phlebotomy Technician will be awarded.
In addition to registration, do I also need to call Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute?
It is not necessary to call our office. In fact, this website contains all the information you will need to register for class and hopefully will answer all your questions. If you are unable to download or print the registration form or register using our online registration form, please give us a call and we will be happy to assist you with registration.
If, however, you should have any other questions not answered in this site, please send an email to us directly at firstname.lastname@example.org. If you need to talk to one of our staff personally, simply pick up the phone and give us a call during regular business hours.
Will I need any supplies on the first day of class?
Please bring a photo ID with you to class, in addition, a pen, pencil, highlighter, black Sharpie extra fine point marker and a tablet to take notes. FYI: Please bring a jacket with you to class also, as we do keep the classroom temperature between 65 to 68 degrees in order to be OSHA compliant.
What should I wear to class?
Make sure that you wear a short sleeve shirt or sleeves that you can pull up. A set of scrubs is the best option if you have them, but not a requirement. You will also be required to wear close-toed shoes (no open-toed shoes or sandals, this is OSHA requirement for drawing blood). Please do not wear shorts, skirts or capri pants to class. If your hair length is past your shoulders it must be pulled back. Nails must be active length. Please bring a jacket to class with you as it is always cold in our classes.
Do I need to register for the class?
Registration is absolutely mandatory, as we must have a certain amount of registrants in order to hold the workshop.
If you have registered and do not hear from us by email or phone the week before the class to confirm your reservation, please contact us immediately and let us know!!!
Click here to go to the registration page, you can register online or download the form. Please fill it out completely, make sure that you write in the city where the class is being held, the course date and the name of the hotel.
How much does the class cost?
The tuition fee for the two(2) day Phlebotomy Certification Class is $450.00.
A deposit of $175.00 is required prior to class in order to reserve your seat, and the remaining tuition balance is due the first morning of class during Registration via Cash, Money Order, or Business Check ONLY.
Textbooks are not included in your tuition price, however, you may purchase a textbook for $40.00 or borrow one from us while in class. A FULL PowerPoint presentation is available for purchase in printed form also for $40.00. All training supplies are included in your tuition. Textbooks and PowerPoint Binder's are loaned to you on the first morning of class.
The Title of the book is: BLOOD COLLECTION, A SHORT COURSE, EDITION 2 Authors: Marjorie Schaub Di Lorenzo & Susan King Strasinger.[Description: Blood Collection: A Short Course (Di Lorenzo, Blood Collection)]
Many employers will pay your tuition for this course, so it doesn’t hurt to ask! We accept “business or company checks” with prior approval. *If you pay for your tuition by check, you will receive your certificate in the mail within two weeks of completion of class. SORRY, NO EXCEPTIONS.*
Is it possible to “fail” the class?
YES....on occasion some students DO fail this class and do not receive their “Certificate of Training”.
If a student should potentially fail the class, they may return to a future class, retake the class and retake the test. This will allow the student to develop their skills and become more proficient in order to pass the course and receive their “Certificate of Training”.
What materials will I receive at the class?
Your tuition includes your attendance in class and your training supplies. Textbooks and Binders are not included in the cost of the class, however, we will loan you a textbook and PowerPoint presentation Binder during class and you also have the option to purchase a textbook or Binder from your Instructor for $40.00 each if you would prefer to take a textbook or Binder home with you after completing the class. Our textbook will cover all aspects of drawing blood, and laboratory safety; including Bloodborne Pathogens, OSHA Standards, Hazards and Complications, Basic Venous Anatomy, and Standard Equipment.
Our primary focus is on venipuncture including: Principles of Collection and Technique using Vacutainer, Syringe, Butterfly, Lancet technique and specimen handling. Medical Terminology will also be covered.
- Students will be provided with a “Training Supplies Kit” that they can take home to practice proper venipuncture technique. (There is a $15.00 charge for failure to return a Training Kit)
- Students will be allowed to progress at their own pace and skill level while under direct supervision of a qualified, trained Instructor during all venipuncture attempts as to ensure safety and success.
- The “Certificate of Training” requires at least five ( 5 ) successful attempts at venipuncture demonstrating proper technique and patient care.
Certificates will be awarded at the end of class. ***If you pay for your tuition by check, you will receive your certificate in the mail within two weeks of completion of class.
Do you offer job placement assistance?
Unfortunately, Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute does NOT provide job placement assistance, nor guarantee jobs. We simply provide our students with a “Certificate of Training” after successful completion of our workshop.
I lost my Certificate; can you send me a new copy?
The replacement fee is $35.00. You must submit a request to us in writing and mail it to the following address: Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute 106 East Court Street Seguin, TX 78155. In order to issue a replacement the following information is required in order for a replacement to be issued:
- Your name as it appeared on your Certification Your certificate number)
- Date and location that you attended class
- Your current mailing address
- Replacement fee payment in the form of Money Order or Cashier's Check (NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED). Make payable to: CTPI or Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute, LLC.
Please Allow 3 weeks for a replacement to be issued and mailed to you.
My name has changed. Can you change it on my certificate?
The replacement fee is $35.00. You must submit a request to us in writing and mail it to the following address: Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute 106 East Court Street, Seguin, TX 78155. In order to make changes to and replace your certificate, the following information is required:
- Proof of your name change (Example: photo ID, marriage license, adoption papers, etc.)
- Your certificate number
- Date and location that you attended class
- Your current mailing address
- Replacement fee payment in the form of Money Order or Cashier’s Check (NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED). Make payable to: CTPI or Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute, LLC.
Please allow up to three weeks for a replacement to be issued and mailed to you.
How do I reach you?
Call us at our office at 830-822-1481 send us an email to email@example.com
Our office hours are as follows:
- Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
- Friday: 8:00 am to 3:00 p.m. (we are usually on the road traveling after this time)
- Saturday - Sunday: CLOSED as we are in class teaching
-If you should reach our voicemail after regular business hours, please leave a detailed message and your contact number and one of staff members will return your call during the next regular business day.
-If you should reach our voicemail during regular business hours, please leave a detailed message and your contact number and the next available staff member will return your call immediately. During registration time, we can sometimes be receiving a high volume of calls, but your call is very important to us and we WILL return your call as quickly as possible.
Policy on “Returned Checks”
All returned checks will be charged a NSF fee of $25.00, in addition, you will be charged for all applicable Bank Fee's incurred by our Bank. The amount of the check, including all extra fees must be paid within 10 days of return. A method of payment is by Cashier's Check or Money Order ONLY, NO EXCEPTIONS!! If payment is not received in our office within 10 days of written notice, your check will be turned over to the District Attorney's Office if the State for which it was written. Collection proceedings will be handled by the District Attorney's Office and a warrant could be issued for your arrest.
Cancellation and Refund Policy for Central Texas Phlebotomy Institute, LLC
Should a student be terminated, must cancel class, or reschedule class, please refer to following procedures of our Cancellation and Refund Policy as we do strictly abide by this policy:
- “I have to cancel my reservation for an upcoming class, and would like a refund.”
Cancellation must be made in writing by student and submitted by mail via United States Postal Service Certified Mail, and received in our office before the first day of class. Once we have received the written notification of your cancellation, a full refund will be processed in the same method of payment that was originally made for the class. (i.e. if you paid with a debit/credit card the amount paid will be refunded to your debit/credit card, or if you paid via money order the amount paid will be refunded back via money order) Once we receive and approve your refund request, please allow 7-10 business days for your refund to process.
- “I have to cancel my reservation for an upcoming class, but would like to reschedule for a different upcoming class.”
Student must give written notice of intent to reschedule for another upcoming class. The student has only 6 months from the original scheduled class date to apply and use deposit/tuition for another upcoming class or it will be forfeited. The student may reschedule up to only 3 times and if the student fails to attend the 3rd and final rescheduled class the tuition/deposit will be forfeited. *Please note that a reschedule will immediately terminate the option for a DEPOSIT refund*
- “I attended class, but was unable to complete the course and would like a refund.”
Student must request a refund in writing by submitting a detailed letter via USPS Certified Mail (Green Forms ONLY, DO NOT send by Priority Mail), providing a reasonable basis for their incompletion or dissatisfaction. A refund request must be received no later than the 14th day after the date that the course has concluded. All amounts of money will be refunded if the student completes at least 8 hours or one-half of the course.
- “I made a reservation for class, but was unable to attend and would like a refund.”
The deposit will be forfeited if the student elects not to attend the class and fails to notify the school in writing via U.S. Postal Service Certified Mail, and received in our office before the first day of class. Cancellation of class without written notice will NOT qualify for a deposit refund, however student will qualify for a RESCHEDULE (please refer to reschedule policy for details).
- “I made a reservation for class, and I arrived late for class.”
If the student is more than 15 minutes late for the class they will NOT BE ALLOWED TO ATTEND THE SCHEDULED CLASS. The student will be asked to reschedule for a different upcoming class (please refer to reschedule policy) OR student may request a refund (excluding deposit) in writing, and notice must be received no later than the 14th day after the date that the course has concluded.
We reserve the right to dismiss any student, at any time during the two day course, if they are suspected to be under the influence of any controlled substance or alcohol, if they are belligerent or exhibit hostility toward an Instructor or fellow student, if they refuse to cooperate with the class policies as set forth by the Lead Instructor or if they exhibit behaviors unbecoming of a healthcare professional.